2003 Archive

2002 Archive

2001 Archive

Client Newsroom

Community Financial Announces 2004 Scholarship Winners

Ten $1,000 scholarships awarded to Michigan students.

Plymouth, MI (June 7, 2004) – Community Financial recently announced the winners of its annual scholarship program. The Community Financial Scholarship Fund, an affiliate of the credit union, awarded ten $1,000 scholarships to Michigan students.

The 2004 winners were selected from eligible students who are Community Financial members and will use the funds to attend an accredited post-secondary educational institution.

“We are pleased to recognize students who have demonstrated both academic excellence and community involvement which reflects the credit union philosophy of ‘people helping people’,” said Roger Ballard, board chair of the Community Financial Scholarship Fund.

For 16 years, the credit union’s annual scholarship program has awarded a total of $60,000 to college bound members who have demonstrated a commitment to their education and community. Community Financial has two scholarship funds—one in honor of Margaret Dunning, a longtime credit union volunteer, and another to honor the memory of George Lawton, the credit union’s general manager of 29 years.

Winners of this year’s scholarships included Novi High School seniors Elaine Williams and Brian Renner, Novi Christian senior Ian Waldo and Ladywood graduates Sheena Joychan and Laura Kempa. Canton residents Reeva Patel, a Salem High School senior, and Michele Sauter-Portelli, a student at Eastern Michigan University, also received scholarships. Gaylord High School seniors Cassandra Cope and Colin Sanders along with Atlanta High School senior Amanda Darilek were scholarships winners from the credit union’s northern Michigan service area.

The scholarship program is just one of several student programs through which Community Financial has demonstrated its strong commitment to education and financial literacy, added Ballard.

Membership in Community Financial is open to anyone who lives, works, worships, volunteers or attends school in the Michigan cities, townships or counties of Plymouth, Canton, Northville, Novi, Alpena, Otsego and Montmorency. With more than 34,000 members, Community Financial provides financial services to members at seven branch locations and through a variety of automated and online services. For more information, visit the credit union web site at www.cfcu.org or call (734) 453-1200 or (877) 937-2328, toll free.

# # #



Company Profile - Philosophy - Capabilities - Client Newsroom - Contact Us - Client Use - Home

102 S. Rosevere, Dearborn, MI 48124
Phone:313-406-3467 - Fax:313-406-3468